Roll it…

How to add a menu to WordPress via a screencast

Here’s my first real attempt at a screencast. I run up against the 5 min bumper and so I’ve created a second clip to finish what I intended. I can’t seem to get it to show up as an embedded video here. I copied the embed code and pasted it below, both in the visual tab and the HTML tab, but the best it can do is provide a link. I’d like to get the video so that it can play here.

Screencast

Part 1 – Adding menu items to a WordPress blog

http://www.screencast.com/t/TUtVW1iM2Fs

Part 2 – Adding menu items to a WordPress blog

http://www.screencast.com/t/z5NKQnHv5ea

My experience

So, what has this mini experience of screen casting done for me, or what I have learned so far from it. Well, I do see some of the points that consider screen casting as one way (ref: Joanne Huebner). I feel this too, but also see that if there can be times when one-way information can be a part of a dialog. Afterall, when someone posts to a blog isn’t that one way, initially? Of course, there is the possibility of commenting which creates the opportunity for a two way conversation. So, couldn’t a video do the same? It does seem like some people have been using it that way as well, as demonstrated by Russell Stannard. Jon Udell sees that one of the uses of screen casting as allowing a one-to-one presentation to go one-to-many. Of course the quality then matters. It brings in Gardener Campell’s concept of voice – inflection, tone, dramatization. I like the idea that voice is considered in a positive way to share meaning. So often it seems that there is such a negative connotation associated with a teacher talking/speaking in a one-way fashion for any significant period of time. Campell expresses the positive possibility nicely for me, ““the explaining voice,” the voice that performs understanding. The explaining voice doesn’t just convey information; it shapes, out of a shared atmosphere, an intimate drama of cognitive action in time”

How to find that balance that keeps the listener engaged. The idea of students listening to podcasts before class and on the way home, would, in one sense open the door of connecting further and communicating with conscious intentions from the teacher/instructor/facilitator of learning. But it does indeed seem to wind up the level of preparation needed by both students and teachers. I imagine that a teacher could record for one class and then use it for several semesters. But would that gap of time mean some relevance is lost?

It was interesting hearing my own voice when recording with Jing. I have heard it a few times before in different ways. I didn’t save the first recording and while I see faults in the two that I did save, I could see definite ways to improve upon them. I image with practice and preparation, screen casting would become easier and probably come out better too.


0 Responses to “Roll it…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

